Banks in Nigeria

Banks in Nigeria

Access bank
Diamond bank
Fidelity bank
First bank
First Inland
Nigeria International Bank
Standard Chartered
Intercontinental bank
Oceanic bank
Skye bank
Spring bank
Sterling bank
United Bank for Africa
Union Bank
Unity bank
Wema bank
Zenith bank



Standard Chartered Bank plc


Standard Chartered Bank Nigeria Ltd.
Address: Head Office: 105b, Ajose Adeogun Street, Victoria Island, Lagos
Phone: +234 1 3262000, 2626801-5; Fax: +234 1 2626814, 3201659

Standard chartered bank is a big bank in Nigeria. It is one of the 25 (now 24) banks that scaled the CBN's hurdle for consolidation.

It has its origin from South Africa as the Standard Bank of South Africa and in 1965, it merged with the Bank of West Africa, now First Bank. Standard Chartered remained a shareholder of First Bank of Nigeria until 1996.

In 1999 however, Standard Chartered came into Nigeria again and opened as a commercial bank to provide retailing services. It is now a whollu owned subsidiary of Standard Chartered Bank Plc U.K.

The bank has over 14 branches in Nigeria located in cities like Lagos, Port Harcourt, Abuja, Ibadan, Kano, Aba and Ota.

Go to Standard chartered bank website

Ask a Question